Volunteer Opportunities

EDCI has both ongoing and seasonal volunteer opportunities. If you’re interested in an opportunity, please fill out the application form below.

All volunteers interacting with children must undergo a background check.

EDCI STEAM Saturdays Workshops

From September through December, EDCI will offer Saturday workshops for kids in third through fifth grade on a variety of science and art themes (STEAM: Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Math). Workshops will take place every other Saturday from 9:00am–1:00pm.

We need volunteers to supervise class activities and field trips as well as individuals interested in facilitating STEAM workshops with the students.

Interested parties should contact Crystal Folmar (crystal.folmar@edci.org). A background check is required by EDCI.

Friday Clubs 

Y.E. Smith Elementary School offers enrichment classes every Friday (Friday Clubs) to students between 3:00-4:00 p.m. Friday clubs expose students to new subjects and experiences and give students and professionals the opportunity to indulge their non-academic interests. Clubs last anywhere from 6-9 weeks.

Examples of previous Friday Clubs are robotics, debate team, Zumba, cooking, art, and yoga. Please note that Friday Club volunteers are responsible for designing and facilitating their club and will need to apply to Durham Public Schools to be a volunteer. A background check is required by both EDCI and Durham Public Schools.

Contact Esther Mateo-Orr (esther.mateo-orr@edci.org) with questions.

Reading Rangers

Help a child improve their reading skills in just one hour a week! Reading Rangers is a weekly volunteer program offered by the Downtown Durham Rotary Club at Y.E. Smith Elementary. Reading Rangers spend one hour a week with their student reading books one on one. Email Lauren Stephenson (lauren.stephenson@edci.org) for more information. A background check by Durham Public Schools is required.

Hora de Cuento (Story Hour)

EDCI hosts a weekly Story Hour in Spanish for families with young children on Fridays from 10:30-11:30 a.m. Story tellers read from books, sing songs, and give out snacks. Intermediate to advanced Spanish skills are required to run Story Hour, but assistants do not need high levels of Spanish.

Contact Carla Fryling (carla.fryling@edci.org) with questions.

Spanish-Language Interpretation

The EDCI Zone is home to a significant Spanish-speaking population. EDCI is seeking volunteers to interpret at various community and family events. Native Spanish speakers and professional interpreters are preferred, but advanced speakers from any background are welcome. Interpretation opportunities can be one time or ongoing.

Contact Luisa Maxwell (luisa.maxwell@edci.org) with questions.

Basketball Coaches

EDCI is sponsoring two basketball teams for EDCI Zone youth: ages 7–8 and ages 8–9. We are seeking volunteer coaches who have experience coaching youth basketball. Practices are held once a week on Wednesdays in the Holton Career and Resource Center, and games are held on Saturdays. The season runs from approximately November 2015–February 2016.

Interested parties should fill out the application. Contact Darryl Barnes if you have any questions (darryl.barnes@edci.org). A background check is required by EDCI as well as Durham Parks and Recreation.

Holiday Zone

Each December, EDCI hosts a holiday event for families where they can pick out new toys and books for their children. We need volunteers who can organize toy drives, serve as personal shoppers during the event, and wrap gifts. This is an excellent volunteer opportunity for large groups.

Contact Amber Wade (amber.wade@edci.org) with questions.

Summer Lunch

During the summer months when school is not in session, EDCI offers daily hot, healthy lunches to food-insecure families. We also offer enrichment activities including story time and arts and crafts. We need volunteers to serve lunches and conduct enrichment activities. This is an excellent volunteer opportunity for large groups.

Contact Clifton Daye (clifton.daye@edci.org) with questions.

Youth Leadership Mentors

Help nurture the next generation of leaders in East Durham! Each week, fourth and fifth graders living in the EDCI Zone meet to discuss health challenges and brainstorm potential solutions. We need mentors to attend meetings each week (1-2 times per week) and guide mentors on their leadership paths. Email Lorissa Williams (lorissa.williams@edci.org) for more information or to sign up. A background check is required.

Please note: all EDCI volunteer positions are unpaid

Become A Volunteer

Spotlight Content

Let's talk about impact

Let's talk about impact

At EDCI we're celebrating our fifth year in operation. We have a lot to be proud of and a lot to work toward. We invite you to read our Impact Summary. 
Read More

Thank you, your message has been sent!